CIHR Governing Council appointments

CIHR Governing Council is pleased to announce the appointment of two new members for a three-year term:

  • Deborah DeLancey, a former Deputy Minister with the Government of the Northwest Territories, who has decades of experience working with Indigenous organizations and has served on the boards of several national health organizations; and
  • Shanthi Johnson, Professor and Dean of the School of Public Health at the University of Alberta, and a leading researcher in the area of aging and the health of seniors.

We are also pleased to announce the reappointment of Josette-Renée Landry, Michael Salter, and Amélie Quesnel-Vallée.

We would like to also express our appreciation to our departing members, Paul Allison, Diane Gosselin, and Louise Lemieux-Charles, for their dedication and significant contributions to the Governing Council.

The years ahead will be exciting ones as we recover from the COVID-19 pandemic and continue the implementation of CIHR’s Strategic Plan 2021–2031. We look forward to working with our new Governing Council colleagues to fulfil CIHR’s important mandate for the benefit of all Canadians.

Dr. Jeannie Shoveller
Chair, CIHR Governing Council

Dr. Michael Strong
President, CIHR

Date modified: